See?

Cowl_2012_11_11_Willow-Cowl_Group

I made a Willow Cowl and it zipped along so fast that I ended up making two more. The first I made in KnitPicks Dancing:

Cowl_2012_10_31_Willow-Cowl_Knit-Picks-Dancing_1

Pattern: Willow Cowl by Amelia Lyon
Yarn: 1.7 skeins KnitPicks Dancing, 41% cotton, 39% wool, 13% nylon, 7% elastic, color 23589
Needles: US size 5
Started 10/28 and finished 10/31/2012

I had it on my sale table as a sample during the craft fair at the San Francisco Botanical Garden and it got picked up by nearly every person who walked by. “Willow” is also very apt for a garden, so I donated it to the Garden for their annual volunteer and docent raffle. I was surprised it was so popular; of the three I made, I liked this color the least.

For the second cowl I used thicker yarn so I had to recalculate the stitch and row counts to make it work. Result:

Cowl_2012_11_03_Willow-Cowl_STR_Bejewelled_2

Yarn: .92 skeins Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Heavyweight, 100% superwash merino wool, color Bejewelled
Needles: US size 7
Started 11/1 and finished 11/3/2012

Willow Cowl is a simple and clever pattern. Simple in that it required no thinking once I got going, and clever the way the easy yo k2tog sections hang so nicely in decorative ridges on the neck, despite the design looking so plain when lying flat:

Cowl_2012_11_03_Willow-Cowl_STR_Bejewelled_3

looks a little like a toddler skirt?

The third is back to sock yarn so knitted pretty much as written:

Cowl_2012_11_11_Willow-Cowl_Sahara_1

Yarn: .95 skein Zitron Trekking Hand Art Flamé, 75% wool, 25% nylon, color Sahara
Needles: US size 4
Started 11/5 and finished 11/11/2012

The last item today is a one-off of random headwear. I wasn’t so sure about making a headband, but the day I walked to the statues to take the picture I passed three women out on their walks, all wearing wide headbands. Apparently they’re in but I’m so out that I hadn’t noticed… It looks a little silly on Sancho Panza, perhaps because his hair isn’t pushed back nor does it cover the ties:

Headband_2012_11_07_Koigu_Alice-Band

Pattern: Multicoloured Alice Band by Claire Montgomerie, as published in Knitting Vintage
Yarn: .4 skeins Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino, 100% wool, color P602
Needles: US size 1 for the i-cord and size 2 for the headband
Started 11/6 and finished 11/7/2012

The only change I made was to work a 3-stitch i-cord; I thought the 4-stitch cord was too thick.

My unstylish self will now return to the regularly scheduled Sunday night bus knitting panic. What to work on when in transit tomorrow?

