My feet are warm in socks with fantastically bright orange and pink stripes that I absolutely adore:

Socks_2012_11_13_pink-orange-socks_2

Pattern: own (basic 2×2 cuff)
Yarn: Lana Grossa Meilenweit 100 Fantasy, 80% wool, 20% nylon, color 4833
Needles: US size 1
Started 8/24 and finished 11/13/2012

There’s not much to say about style or construction. Basic knit 2 purl 2 cuff, basic slip-stitch flap heel, basic fit.

My mom’s feet are warm in socks with a simple yet effective and interesting cuff:

Socks_2012_11_25_Mamas-Gentlemans-Fancy-Sock_2

Actually, those are my feet again. I had her permission to model these (really, I think she didn’t want to stand in socks on cold stone and would rather wield the camera, so she asked me to wear them for the photo shoot)

Pattern: Gentleman’s Fancy Sock by Nancy Bush, as published in “Knitting Vintage Socks”
Yarn: Regia Tweed 4-fädig, 70% wool, 25% nylon, 5% rayon
Needles: US size 2 for the tops, US size 1 for heel and foot
Started 11/4 and finished 11/25/2012

A bunch of as yet unknown babies’ feet will be warm:

Booties_2012_11_30_7-pairs

Yarn: Koigu KPPPM color P602 (peach/strawberry), N.N. Sportiv color 0647/20/24 (red), Regia Tweed 4-fädig color 10 (brown), South West Trading Company TOFUtsies color 733 (pink), TOFUtsies color 870 (pink/green/black)
Needles: US size 2
Started 7/26 and finished 11/30/2012 (worked on them off and on)

And my mom’s feet are warm again with another pair:

Socks_2012_12_25_Mamas-monkey-socks_1

Pattern: Monkey by Cookie A, as published on Knitty
Yarn: Tausendschön Handgefärbte Sockenwolle, 75% wool, 25% nylon, color Tag am Meer (day at the sea)
Needles: US size 2
Started 11/25 and finished 12/25/2012

As usual, because these are for hiking, I keep the fancy pattern on the cuff only and work the foot part in stockinette so it’s nice and smooth in the shoe. I like how they pooled at the tops and striped on the feet. I’m also surprised by it because the stitch count for cuff and foot is the same. It goes to show you how much a stitch pattern can affect gauge:

Socks_2012_12_25_Mamas-monkey-socks_3

After I made her about 8 brown-based pairs of socks at her request so far, I was amazed when she picked out this color, Tag am Meer, at Tausendschön in Saarbrücken last fall. She apparently has embraced wearing bright socks and I think this is her current favorite pair; she keeps sending me photos of these particular socks’ latest adventures, like this:

Socks_2013_01_04_Mamas-monkey-socks-in-action

Not that I mind. I’m always happy when my work is appreciated.

