This is the Switchback Cowl that I started on a beautiful sunny day at the Alpaca Ranch Retreat on December 9. The yarn is very bright:

Cowl_2012_12_10_Switchback-Cowl_2

The stitch pattern is an easy, intuitive repeat. I could tell which round I was on by looking at the previous round. I recommend this design if you’re new to knitting a lace pattern. The cowl is quite puckered when you’re working on it and flattens out after blocking. Here’s a comparison, pre-blocking and post-blocking:

2012_12_09_Switchback-Cowl_WIP

Cowl_2012_12_10_Switchback-Cowl_1_flat

Pattern: Switchback Cowl by Kira K Designs, worked as written except I think I added a repeat
Yarn: nearly a full skein Fearless Fibers Superwash Sportweight Merino, 100% superwash merino wool, color: Kildare
Needles: US size 6
Started 12/9 and finished 12/10/2012

The cowl is big enough to cover one’s head, should one need an impromptu hood:

Cowl_2012_12_10_Switchback-Cowl_3

That’s it for cowls at Mmm… Yarn for a while. This week I appear to be obsessed with making hats in rice stitch. Work is incredibly busy and rice stitch is about all I can wrap my brain around by the time I get home.

