Here’s a peek at what I bought at Stitches West on Friday:

2013_02_23_StitchesWest_loot

Top row, left to right: Corriedale fiber from Fun Fibers for Hand Spinners; Greensleeves Spindles 18g spindle from Carolina Homespun (which went for a test drive immediately); Schoppel-Wolle Crazy Zauberball (my stepdad wants “crazy socks” and I hope this fits the bill); Watermelon Sock Kit from Knitter’s Brewing Co.; 10 skeins of Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool for the stash

Bottom row: sport weight alpaca from Black Diamond Alpacas; worsted weight superwash merino from Oink Fibers in “Goldfish Bowl”; orange cashmere laceweight from StitchSisterz; Valley Yarns Superwash DK (wee sweater-to-be); Bugga! from Cephalopod Yarns (so. very. purple.); Creating from A Verb For Keeping Warm; 2 skeins of Noro Kureyon

I like going on Friday. It’s less crowded than Saturday and less picked-over than Sunday. Using a vacation day from work is worth it! Six of the items were on my list, including the spindle. It’s the same weight as one of my other spindles but with a considerably smaller whorl so it will fit in a purse or backpack far more easily. The bright yellow alpaca is a color I saw everywhere in all kinds of yarns and kept picking up so I decided to buy it. No idea yet what I’ll make with it, just had to have the yellow. My major splurge was the Bugga! in such a lovely, vivid purple that I’m going to have to admire it for a while before I start thinking about what to do with it.

I wish I had gone back to Shaky K Fiber to buy one of their skeins of terrifically bright sock yarn. They’re not in the Showbook but they were in row 100. I’ll add them to my list for next year, or purchase mail order since I’ve already handled the wares. I also missed Brooks Farm, who did not go to Stitches West this year.

Acquisition: 7117 yards (4.04 miles).

