Seeing the aurora borealis is on my list of “someday” travel dreams. It’s only been on the list for a year and I didn’t actively pursue it once I thought it up because brrrrr, the weather is usually on the cold side once you’re far enough north to see the lights. However, I could make it up in knitting: Revontuli, the northern lights shawl, has been on my mind pretty much since I first spotted it on Ravelry and in December I made it.

Shawl_2012_12_28_Revontuli-2

The barrier is made of a grabby type of stone (sandstone, perhaps?) that is wide enough to accommodate shawls and holds them in place while you photograph them. I’m sure this is exactly the purpose the parks department had in mind here.

The pattern uses increases and decreases to create the zigzags. I made it nearly one pattern repeat longer than written and used size 11 needles to work a suspended bind-off in knit on the last row. Despite the long rows to purl back, I made this quickly because I liked seeing the stripes appear.

Shawl_2012_12_28_Revontuli-1

Pattern: Revontuli-huivi/Northern Lights by AnneM
Yarn: 2 skeins Lang Yarns Jawoll Magic Dégradé, color 85.0025
Needles: US size 9
Size: 64″ across top and 28″ tall
Started 12/8 and finished 12/28/2012

Shawl_2012_12_28_Revontuli-5-detail

This is souvenir yarn I bought in Bad Sooden-Allendorf last fall when I stopped for lunch on my way elsewhere. I knew Lang Yarns in general are available in the United States but I really liked these colors so snapped up two skeins because I had the opportunity.

Shawl_2012_12_28_Revontuli-4

It’s big enough to fit the lion sphinx.

I’ll have to wear it whenever I do make it to the far north in honor of the occasion, probably over something else so my neck stays super-warm.

