…would still lie as flat. I whacked out a spate of hats quickly during a very busy period of work this spring, when my brain was so fried after long days at the office that hats were about all I could manage after getting home, all using the first lie-flat stitch I learned way back when I learned to knit years ago. Well, the first one not counting ribbing. I learned its name as rice stitch: cast on an even number of stitches, then 1 row/round of k1 p1, followed by 1 row of all purl if working flat or 1 round of all knit if working in the round. These hats were all worked in the round.

This dark teal hat came out on multiple photo shoots because I found the color nearly impossible to photograph. Here it is in its faded glory:

Hat_2013_02_27_rice-stitch_teal-tweed_1

Pattern: cast on 88
Yarn: Berroco Blackstone Tweed, 65% wool, 25% mohair, 10% angora, color 2646
Needles: US size 6
Size: adult
Started 2/22 and finished 2/27/2013

In a marled yarn, the texture comes through differently to my eye, and for some reason this red and white yarn really wanted a tassel:

Hat_2013_02_23_Rice-Stitch_red-white_2

Pattern: cast on 80
Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Encore DK, 75% acrylic, 25% wool, color 1003
Needles: US size 5
Size: adult
Started 2/19 and finished 2/23/2013

I combed through my books that have been on the shelf for a while, curious to see where I first came across rice stitch. It does not make an appearance in The All-New Teach Yourself to Knit booklet from which I learned to knit or in Vogue Knitting, 1989 edition.

One trick The All-New Teach Yourself to Knit taught me is to knit across a row of ribbing (= don’t rib) when changing colors, to avoid the purl bloops of color that show through when you work a stripe in ribbing. That non-ribbed row/round in rice stitch allows you to insert a neat stripe. I worked these skinny stripes as 2 rounds each so I was changing colors on the knit rounds each time.

Hat_2013_02_09_Rice-Stitch_Natural-w-black-stripe_1

Pattern: cast on 72
Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Encore Tweed, 75% acrylic, 22% wool, 3% rayon, color 1237 (beige) and Plymouth Yarn Encore Worsted, 75% acrylic, 25% wool, color 0217 (black)
Needles: US size 6
Size: adult
Started and finished 2/9/2013

The stitch goes by the elegant name “No. 97” in Knitting Primer, and in the margin the booklet’s previous owner wrote “Single Rib.” It’s an old booklet; perhaps I can call rice stitch “The Wreck of the Old ’97” when I truly mess it up. It’s hard to mess up, though, and here’s what it looks like worked in 2-row stripes of colors close in value:

Hat_2013_03_17_rice-stitch_green-brown-stripe_2

Pattern: cast on 64
Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Tweed, 100% wool, color 1440 (green) and 1413 (brown), held double
Needles: US size 9
Size: adult
Started 3/16 and finished 3/17/2013

Mary Thomas’s Knitting Patterns calls it by multiple names (periods and quotes where she has them, commas are mine): Rib I and I. Welt I., Garter Ribbing, “Tufted Moss Stitch”, and “Waistcoat Stitch”, plus a note that the reverse side is Fancy Ribbing. I can’t imagine a more catchy name than Rib I and I. Welt I..

As with the striped hat above, I worked color changes here on knit rows only (added bonus: no dreaded jog where you start a new row!) and carried the color not in use up the inside:

Hat_2013_03_17_rice-stitch_brown-and-cream_1

Pattern: cast on 80
Yarn: Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted, 85% wool, 15% mohair, 28g each of color M-08 Wild Oak and M-115 Oatmeal
Needles: US size 8
Size: adult
Started and finished 3/17/2013

In Barbara Walker’s A Treasury of Knitting Patterns it’s called Broken Rib. I had not enough of the brown yarn to make a complete hat so I made a jagged pattern at the top with a small ball of something with a similar weight:

Hat_2013_03_09_rice-stitch_brown-seafoam_1

Pattern: cast on 88
Yarn: assumed Rowan Felted Tweed DK in brown (held double) and unknown seafoam green yarn (held single; spit-splices well so probably high wool content)
Needles: US size 6
Size: adult
Started 2/18 and finished 3/9/2013

And to bring us out of the realm of books on paper, a quick Google images search reveals pictures of what’s to my eye seed stitch and garter stitch, and lots of pictures of the same thing I’m doing except I can see the the knit stitches are worked through the back loop, creating a different texture. No twisted stitches here:

Hat_2013_03_16_rice-stitch_navy-seafoam_2_top

Pattern: cast on 72
Yarn: Bartlettyarns Fisherman 2-ply, 100% wool, color 280 Midnight Blue and unknown seafoam green yarn
Needles: US size 8
Size: adult
Started 3/13 and finished 3/16/2013

That’s quite enough rice stitch for now. The next post will be something else. For those of you who are working to meet the Christmas knitting deadline, I think today is the day the official countdown begins. Best of luck!

